11th November 2018 @ 7:30 pm
Perth Concert Hall
Mill Street
Perth PH1 5HZ
Perth Concert Series: Royal Scottish National Orchestra @ Perth Concert Hall

Prokofiev Symphony No 1 ‘Classical’
Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No 1
Ken Johnston Three movements from All Those Men Who Marched Away
Poulenc Gloria

Thomas Søndergård, Conductor
Alexander Gavrylyuk, Piano
Elin Rombo, Soprano
Glasgow Cambiata
RSNO Chorus
Frikki Walker, Director, Glasgow Cambiata
Gregory Batsleer, Chorus Director, RSNO Chorus

Music is life – and life always finds a way. Poulenc’s Gloria is a celebration – an exuberant shout of joy from a composer who’d seen the best and worst of the 20th century. It’s the inspiring finish to a concert that features two irresistible Russian masterpieces by Prokofiev and Tchaikovsky (with the brilliant Alexander Gavrylyuk as soloist), but also, at its heart, a new piece from Ken Johnston as we commemorate the anniversary of WWI, featuring the superb young singers of Glasgow Cambiata.

In collaboration with Poppyscotland

Font Resize
Contrast Mode